skyzoo an ode to reasonable doubt

Although it was slow to catch on when it first arrived 17 years ago, Jay Z’s Reasonable Doubt is undoubtedly a classic (just ask the man himself). Commemorating both Hov’s landmark debut and 44th birthday yesterday, Brooklyn lyricist Skyzoo teamed up with Philly producer Antman Wonder to release An Ode to Reasonable Doubt. The EP recreates nine select cuts from the 1996 album — including “Can’t Knock the Hustle,” “D’Evils” and “Dead Presidents II” — in grand, orchestral fashion, while Sky recites Jay’s timeless lyrics, adding his own personal twists here and there.

To Shawn “Jay Z” Carter: Thank you for raising us. A complete generation, via your heinous experiences, unparalleled triumphs, and unbridled honesty. This is an ode to those moments. Enjoy.

From one BK MC to another… stream An Ode to Reasonable Doubt after the jump…

Skyzoo & Antman Wonder An Ode to Reasonable Doubt (Tracklisting):

1. The Hustle Never Sleeps Feat. Mela Machinko (“Can’t Knock the Hustle”)
2. The Usual Politics Feat. Dayna Watkins (“Politics As Usual”)
3. Meeting the Presidents (“Dead Presidents II”)
4. The Feeling Feat. Kay Cola (“Feelin’ It”)
5. Praying Against D’evils (“D’Evils”)
6. In Love With Living (“Can I Live”)
7. Conversing On Coming Up Feat. Diizco (“Coming of Age”)
8. Thinking You Can Hang Ft. Torae & Sha Stimuli (“Bring It On”)
9. The Truth About Regrets (“Regrets”)

An Ode to Reasonable Doubt is available to purchase on a name-your-price basis on Bandcamp.

Jay Z Ranks His Solo Album Collection
New Music: Jay Z Feat. Pimp C “Tom Ford (Remix)”
Watch: ‘A Genius Leaves the Hood: The Unauthorized Story of Jay Z’ (Documentary Trailer)