The element of surprise continues. Kendrick Lamar has announced the release date for his much-anticipated sophomore album. The TDE MC took to Twitter on Friday afternoon, revealing when fans will get his new solo project — and it’s very soon.

Continue after the jump…..

Tweeting an iTunes pre-order link to his 4.6 million followers, Lamar announced that new album arrives on Monday, March 23. The yet-to-be-titled LP, which is possibly called Untitled, will serve as the follow-up to Kendrick’s critically-acclaimed and Grammy-nominated good kid, m.A.A.d city, which released in 2012.

The 27-year-old so far has released the songs “i” and “The Blacker The Berry,” with the former winning “Best Rap Song” and “Best Rap Performance” at this year’s Grammy Awards. The iTunes pre-order indicates the album consists of 16 songs, including “The Blacker The Berry.”

UPDATE (3/11): Kendrick reveals the album cover and what appears to be the title on Instagram. “Don’t all dogs go to heaven? Don’t Gangsta’s boogie? Do owl shit stank? Lions, Tigers & Bears,” says Kendrick in the caption. “But TO PIMP A BUTTERFLY. Its the American dream nigga….” – lil Homie,” he continues, appearing to confirm that album’s title is To Pimp A Butterfly.

UPDATE (3/12): DJ Booth drops the official tracklisting. According to the site, UMG has sent out the track list to various music upload services to prevent leaks. Expect the final credits with guest features to come before the album’s release date of March 23.

UPDATE (3/15): Features now added, via iTunes. Snoop Dogg, George Clinton, Ronald Isley, Rapsody, Thundercat, James Fauntleroy, Bilal, and Anna Wise makes appearances. Snippets of the album are available in clean version by clicking here.

Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly (Tracklisting):

1. “Wesley’s Theory” (Feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
2. “For Free? (Interlude)”
3. “King Kunta”
4. “Institutionalized” (Feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
5. “These Walls” (Feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Thundercat)
6. “U”
7. “Alright”
8. “For Sale? (Interlude)”
9. “Momma”
10. “Hood Politics”
11. “How Much A Dollar Cost” (Feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
12. “Complexion (A Zulu Love)” (Feat. Rapsody)
13. “The Blacker The Berry”
14. “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
15. “i”
16. “Mortal Man”


Kendrick Lamar – “The Blacker The Berry”
Kendrick Lamar – “i” (Video)