It was a night for Kings on New Years Eve in New York City. Jay-Z and Coldplay brought in 2013 at the new billion-dollar Barclays Center in Brooklyn on Monday night for a special one-night concert. The two headliners brought out some of entertainment’s biggest stars as Taylor Swift (who performed earlier in Times Square), Christina Aguilera, and One Direction’s Harry Styles were some of the noteable attendees last night. Coldplay was up first as they turned the home of the NBA’s Brooklyn Nets into a colorful confetti spectacle as the crowd sang along to their hits “The Scientist,” “Paradise,” “Viva La Vida,” “Yellow,” “Us Against The World,” and “Clocks.”

It was during the band’s performance of “Lost” that Jay-Z joined in, which lead to his opening set with “Run This Town” alongside Chris Martin and Gwenyth Paltrow’s two kids on stage.  Jay continued solo for most of the evening with “Hovi Baby,” a trap version of “Feelin’ It” created by DJ Green Lantern, “I Just Wanna Love U (Give It To Me),” “Izzo (H.O.V.A.),” “Big Pimpin,” “99 Problems,” “3 Kings,” “Money Ain’t a Thang” “Clique,” “Can I Get A…,”  “La La La (Excuse Me Again),” “Empire State of Mind” with Bridget Kelly, and “Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love)” with Coldplay frontman Chris Martin.

As the night came to a close, Jay reflected on the past year before leaving the stage “2012 was a major year for me, it was the birth of my beautiful daughter Blue (Ivy), it was the birth of this building. Tonight I feel like I’m in the right place. I wish you the best 2013 possible. Peace and love.”

Check out some photos and performance footage below…..




Coldplay and Jay-Z – “Lost”

Coldplay, Jay-Z & Bridget Kelly – NYE Countdown

Jay-Z – “Run This Town”

Photo Credit: Getty Images and WireImage
Video Credit: NowThisNews

Previously: Jay-Z Performs with Beyoncé at Barclays Center Concert Finale (Full Show Video)