dmx new album

We’ve seen more and more artists follow the example (perhaps unwisely, in some cases) Beyoncé set with her self-titled album over a year ago, and now DMX is planning a surprise release of his own. This morning the Yonkers rapper announced his new independent solo album, Redemption of the Beast, which will hit iTunes next Tuesday, January 13. Serving as the follow-up to 2012’s Undisputed, the project will include 16 unreleased songs plus guest appearances from Freeway, Rampage and Jannyce.

The novelty of a swift and muted release certainly helped J. Cole’s 2014 Forest Hills Drive top the Billboard 200, but it’s hard to see DMX reaping the same success. Nevertheless, check back next week to see if X really has found redemption (musically speaking, at least).

Check out the artwork and tracklisting below…

dmx redemption of the beast

DMX — Redemption of the Beast (Tracklisting):

1. Spit That Shit
2. Built Like a Bitch
3. On and On
4. Get Up and Try Again
5. Solid (feat. Rampage)
6. I’m Gonna Win
7. It’s a Problem
8. It’s Goin’ Down
9. Shout It
10. One More Night
11. 56 Bars
12. Where You Been (feat. Freeway)
13. Right or Wrong (feat. Jannyce)
14. Gonna Get Mine
15. We Gonna Make It
16. Love That Bitch (feat. Jannyce)

UPDATE: Listen to snippets of the songs on Amazon.

UPDATE2: Swizz Beatz assures fans that he and X have another album in the works.

#gotime 💨💨💨💨💨💨💨💨💨💨💨

Uma foto publicada por therealswizzz (@therealswizzz) em

UPDATE3: The Company releasing DMX’s new album has released this statement.

“Seven Arts is pleased to release the second album from the 52 masters acquired by Seven Arts from DMX and his producers in 2012. DMX and his team fully cooperated on the production of this album. ‘Redemption of the Beast’ was the second album planned for release with DMX in September of 2012, following the release of ‘Undisputed’. These new masters represent the best of this legendary artist and offer production by some of the best in the industry. All fans are invited to listen to the music, which is the real thing, the ‘rough and ready’ of DMX. The music and artistry speaks for itself.”

-Peter Hoffman, Seven Arts Entertainment

DMX Gets Owned By The “Sling Shot” Ride
DMX Catches the Holy Ghost at Dubai Concert with Coolio
DMX Finally Got His Passport Back and Popped Up With a Wild Interview In Bulgaria